Articles of a Treaty

The Brinton Museum

Jun. 10, 2024 - Aug. 28, 2022

239 Brinton Rd.
Big Horn, 82833
PHONE (307) 672-3173

Originated by the Center for American Indian Research and Native Studies (CAIRNS), Articles of a Treaty focuses on the seventeen articles of the 1868 Fort Laramie Treaty. Thirty-two contemporary Oceti Sakowin artists created artworks for this exhibit. Seventeen additional Oceti Sakowin writers crafted poems or prose for the seventeen articles. Seventeen Oceti Sakowin and Northern Plains musicians created songs that are available online. Between April 29, 1868 and November 6, 1868, one hundred fifty-eight representatives of the Oceti Sakowin (Seven Council Fires) Confederacy signed the 1868 Fort Laramie Treaty. Curator Craig Howe, Ph.D. defines for us the divisions of the Oceti Sakowin Confederacy: Dakota (east) is comprised of 4 tribes, Nakota is comprised of 2 tribes and Lakota has 1 tribe. Information about each artist and the Treaty articles appear in the exhibit catalog.

Return to list of all exhibitions