How We Live: Sculpture from Marc and Livia Straus Collection

Hudson Valley MOCA

Oct. 12, 2024 - Jul. 19, 2020

1701 Main Street
Peekskill, 10566
PHONE 914 788.0100

How We Live is a sculpture and video exhibition from the Marc and Livia Straus Family Collection. It includes artists from around the globe who explore the particularities of their individual cultures through art. 34 sculptures by 31 artists along with six video artists showcase unique heritages, and in doing so enrich our understanding of the world.

This exhibition combines the curatorial vision of Omar Lopez-Chahoud, Independent Curator and Artistic Director and Curator of Untitled, Art, and Nicola Trezzi, Director and Chief Curator of the Center for Contemporary Art Tel Aviv, in collaboration with the Marc and Livia Straus Family. Featured in this exhibition are works such as Global Encoder (1994) by Nam June Paik, monument to v.tatlin (1966) by Dan Flavin, Cradle (1999) by Janine Antoni, Felt Floor (2003) by Rachel Whiteread, and Traitment Musicale (1997) by Chen Zhen. Each work is in part an exploration of an artist’s life through the lens of their practice, a poignant reflection of how cultures shape lives and are in turn molded by those living in them.

How We Live follows the exhibition Death is Irrelevant, a show of contemporary figuration from 21 countries which celebrated the 15th anniversary of Hudson Valley Center for Contemporary Art, and marked its renaming as Hudson Valley MOCA. Hudson Valley MOCA was founded in Peekskill, NY in 2004 by Marc and Livia Straus, and this exhibition and the preceding exhibition are the first from the Straus Family Collection since the institution’s inception year.

Featured Artists: Janine Antoni (the Commonwealth of The Bahamas), Richard Artschwager (United States), Tamy Ben-Tor (Israel), Katinka Bock (Germany), Louise Bourgeois (France), Michael Brown (United States), Dan Flavin (United States), Tom Friedman (United States), Jeffrey Gibson (United States), Robert Gober (United States), Sonia Gomes (Brazil), Kristján Guðmundsson (Iceland), Rachel Harrison (United States), Jenny Holzer (United States), Yu Honglei (China), Alex Hubbard (United States), Daniela Kraay (the Netherlands), Annika Larsson (Sweden), Lynn Hershman Leeson (United States), Maria Marshall (United Kingdom), Haroon Mirza (United Kingdom), Ciprian Muresan (Romania), Bruce Nauman (United States), Paulo Nazareth (Brazil), Jong Oh (South Korea), Claes Oldenburg (Sweden), Nam June Paik (South Korea), Magali Reus (the Netherlands), Anne Samat (Malaysia), Ben Schumacher (Canada), Jeanne Silverthorne (United States), Michael E. Smith (United States), Susana Solano (Spain), Moffat Takadiwa (Zimbabwe), Rachel Whiteread (United Kingdom), Bryan Zanisnik (United States), Chen Zhen (China)

Return to list of all exhibitions